Treasury Department Building


Press Releases

For Immediate Release

For more information, contact
Melody Barrett at 202-874-6557.

Top Management Changes at Treasury's Financial Management Service

On Jan. 4, 2008, Judith R.Tillman and David A. Lebryk will assume new roles as Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner of Treasury's Financial Management Service (FMS), respectively. Judy Tillman will succeed Commissioner Kenneth R. Papaj, who is retiring.

Treasury Secretary Henry M. Paulson, Jr. appointed Ms. Tillman as Commissioner stating, "I am pleased to announce the appointment of Judith Tillman as FMS Commissioner. I am confident that Ms. Tillman will serve the American people in an exemplary manner in her new position. She is an outstanding addition to our team of bureau heads within Treasury and brings a wealth of experience to our critical responsibility of effectively managing U.S. government finances." Secretary Paulson said.

Ms. Tillman has served as Deputy Commissioner since May 2006, and will succeed Commissioner Papaj upon his retirement. Since May 2006, Ms. Tillman has served as FMS' Deputy Commissioner and Assistant Commissioner of Regional Operations, where she was responsible for the production and release of government payments, and the management of four regional financial centers. Ms. Tillman has worked at Treasury for more than 34 years, splitting her career between the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) and FMS. At FMS, she has served in a number of management positions, including Assistant Commissioner for Financial Operations and Human Resources Director. In 2004, Ms. Tillman received a Presidential Rank Award for sustained extraordinary service. Ms. Tillman, a summa cum laude graduate of Glassboro State College in New Jersey, holds a bachelor's degree in history and a master's degree in human resource development from American University in Washington, D.C.

Ms. Tillman, in selecting Mr. Lebryk as Deputy Commissioner, said, "Dave Lebryk is a superb leader with broad knowledge of the FMS mission and we are fortunate that he has agreed to join us as Deputy Commissioner."

Mr. Lebryk comes to FMS from the U.S. Mint, serving as Deputy Director since October 2006, and as Acting Director from August 2005 to September 2006. His responsibilities included daily operations of the world's largest manufacturer of coins, medals, and coin products and its six operation centers. Prior to joining the U.S. Mint, Mr. Lebryk was the Deputy Assistant Secretary for Fiscal Operations and Policy. Mr. Lebryk has worked at Treasury since 1989 in various assignments including advisory positions to the Deputy Secretary of the Treasury; and to three Under Secretaries for Domestic Finance. In 2005, Mr. Lebryk received a Presidential Rank Award for sustained extraordinary service at Treasury. Mr. Lebryk holds an bachelor's degree in economics from Harvard College, and a master's in public administration from Harvard University's John F. Kennedy School of Government.

FMS is a bureau of the U.S. Department of the Treasury, primarily responsible for the collection of government revenues, federal payments like social security, veterans' benefits and tax refunds, debt collection and government-wide accounting. In the past year, FMS issued approximately one billion federal payments to more than 100 million people and collected more than $3.11 trillion of federal revenues.

Open Gov   My Money.gov   USA.gov
Linked In   Twitter   Facebook   You Tube   RSS Feed